Page 1
Page 2
Page 3
Page 4
Page 5
Page 6
Page 7
Page 8
Page 9
Page 10
Page 11
Page 12
Page 13
Page 14
Page 15
Page 16
Page 17
Page 18
Page 19
Page 20
Page 21
Page 22
Page 23
Page 24
Page 25
Page 26
Page 27
Page 28
Page 29
Page 30
Page 31
Page 32
Page 33
Page 34
Page 35
Page 36
Page 37
Page 38
Page 39
Page 40
Page 41
Page 42
Page 43
Page 44
TechnologyAdvancing Nuclear Energy Recognizing Expertise Derek Gaston An INL computational mathematician was one of 96 recipients of the 2012 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. Derek is INLs first recipient of the award the highest honor the U.S. government bestows on early career science and engineering professionals. The Computational Frameworks Group lead for INLs Fuels Modeling and and Simulation Department led development of the MOOSE simulation framework more MOOSE on pp. 4 19 24. 26 Richard Martineau Kathryn McCarthy Richard Martineau The director of INLs Fuels Modeling and Simulation Department has been widely sought to highlight the MOOSE simulation platform and its associated applications. In 2012 he travelled to more than a dozen symposia in six states Washington D.C. and abroad. Rich also was selected as the technical program chair for the 2013 International Conference on Mathematics and Computation Methods Applied to Nuclear Science and Engineering. Kathryn McCarthy The director of DOEs Light Water Reactor Sustainability Program Technical Integration Office at INL was asked to serve on a National Academy of Sciences committee to assess the prospects for inertial confinement fusion energy systems. Kathy also received a Nuclear Energy Advocate of the Year Award from Idahos Partnership for Science Technology. Steven Hayes This INL nuclear engineer directing irradiation testing and post-irradiation examination at INL was selected to lead a program for the DOEs Office of Nuclear Energy. Steve is now the Fuel Modeling Simulation technical lead for the offices Nuclear Energy Advanced Modeling and Simulation program. Chang Oh A distinguished INL engineer was named the 2012 recipient of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award in the art of heat transfer category. In 2011 Chang earned the INL Laboratory Directors Award for Exceptional Engineering Achievement.